Spinning Profile: Giro d'Italia Stage 10


After nearly 9 months hiatus, I finally returned to teach my first Spinning class. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to — scheduling just never worked in my favor. I am also fortunate to work in one club where sub requests are snatched up instantly, but the flip side of that is that I have been too slow to pick up extra classes! Eventually (and it was bound to happen sooner or later), the fine gentleman who replaced me in my early morning spot decided to take a vacation, so I stepped in to teach the folks I had the pleasure of leading for almost two years once again. What a great group of folks! They welcomed me back and took away any of the nervousness I was feeling as I got my bike set up. We had a great ride, and, naturally, I want to share it with you!

This is one of my favorite rides. I put it together about a year ago based on a profile posted to pedal-on by Patrick Schutte. Patrick is responsible for the template that I am attaching. You’ll find it in Excel and PDF format — it is very detailed, which is how I like em! It mimics the 10th Tappa of the 2007 Giro d’Italia which rides along the Italian Riviera and then finishes with a steep 14 percent grade to the Santuario Nostra Signora Della Guardia. It features seven steep climbs and presents lots of opporunities for team surges. It is interval style and very challenging. The music, which was put together a year ago*, is still one of my favorite mixes and it went over very well. If you prefer something newer, I encourage you to try a couple of the current top hits on iTunes, posted in the left menu bar. And now, on with the ride…

The Profile

Giro Stage 10 Excel Spreadsheet

Giro Stage 10 PDF File

The Music

Here are the complete playlists, minus the songs that aren’t available from either vendor:

These aren’t on iTunes:

*: I had originally used a mashup that I can no longer locate! I have replaced it with a fun mix by DJ Earworm.
[ad#ad-6]

One thought on “Spinning Profile: Giro d'Italia Stage 10

  1. Pingback: Mac or PC? | Geek Turned Athlete

Leave a Reply

