AFAA Apex for February


There are still a few weeks left before AFAA holds it’s semi-annual Apex weekend. You can’t beat getting certified for $99, if you live near one of the host cities. Here is the information I have:

Apex workshops are happening February 6, 7, & 8 in the following cities:

Atlanta, GA
Boston, MA
Chicago, IL
Columbia, SC
Dallas, TX
Denver, CO
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Honolulu, HI
Kansas City, KS
Las Vegas, NV
Los Angeles, CA
New York, NY
Orlando, FL
Phoenix, AZ
Raleigh, NC
Richmond, VA
Salt Lake City, UT
San Antonio, TX
San Jose, CA
Wash. DC Maryland

Certifications include:
Primary Group Exercise Certification
Personal Fitness Trainer Certification
KickBoxing Certification

Specialty Workshops include:
Indoor Cycling
Practical Pilates
Practical Yoga Instructor Training
Longevity Training for Seniors
Floor, Core & More for Personal Trainers
Midlife Fitness for Women
Mechanics of Injury Prevention

Visit http://www.afaaapex.com or call 800-446-2322 to sign up.

2 thoughts on “AFAA Apex for February

  1. Hi Krista,

    This is a fabulous site. I plan on taking APEX this coming September. I’ve been consistently taking every aerobics and dance class known to man for more than 10 years and after numerous people approaching me about teaching and with more focus on what I want, I’d like to start teaching aerobics, step and dance fusion classes this year. I’ve looked into AFAA and read your AFAA Group Ex. Cert. blogs. Very helpful.

    As I don’t have group ex. instruction experience per se, I was planning on taking the Practical Skills and Choreography course as a prereq to the Group Ex. Cert. Do you have or do you know anyone with experience with the Practical Skills class?

    Thank you in advance.

    • Hi Valerie! Welcome to the blog. I am familiar with the Practical Skills class, but I did not take it. It fills in the gap between the more technical information covered in the Primary Group Cert and actually leading a successful class. I would recommend it for any new instructor, but I don’t believe it will make it any easier to pass the Primary. What I might do, therefore, is take it after acheiving the Primary Cert. This way, you will receive continuing education credits for taking it. If you take it as a pre-req, they won’t count. The knowledge is the same, it is just a matter of getting the most bang for your buck. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

