Oddly Useful Tip #3: Circuit Training Sound Effects


If you are looking for a way to end the need for watching the clock during a Circuit Training or Intervals class, or if you just want fun sound effects to signal the next exercise, you might enjoy this tip.  For this tip to work, you must be able to play both a CD and iPod over the speakers at the same time.  If you can only hear from one at a time it won’t work.  If you can, read on….

Basically, I made tracks that are silent, except for ending with a bell that sounds like the end of a boxing round.  They are 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 minutes long.  I make a playlist based on how I want my Circuit workout to go.    For example, I want do to 10 rounds of 3 minutes of cardio and 2 minutes of a resistance exercise so I use the 3-min and 2-min sound effects alternately in the playlist, for as many rounds as I need.  Then, I copy it to my iPod.

 During class, when it is time for the first interval to begin, I start the playlist.  Every pre-determined time interval will be signalled by a nice “Ding Ding Ding.”  It is fun!  It takes a little bit of manipulation because you have to make sure you can hear the sound effect over your music, but once you’ve got it, you don’t even have to think!  All of your energy can go into the workout or the coaching.

If you want to give it a try, here are the sound effects.

Leave a Reply

